gpr-forum.com

Forum dedicated to Ground Penetrating Radar technology
It is currently Mon Sep 16, 2019 5:16 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 12:45 pm 

(Sorry for my english)

Hello, everyone. I'm a engineering intern, and my job is just to do some studies about GPR, and do some surveys.
Yesterday I was in a ducts field, and I used the GPR for the first time, but I couldn't see a thing. (These ducts are about 1.5m of depth, and 14').

I guess something is very wrong, cause my image is almost a constant of traces. I come here just to have your opnion. How can I correct this? What could I had do wrong? Please tell me something that I can be doing in a wrong way, so I can test it and post here the results from your help.

Setup
Antenna: GCB500
Distance mode;
Range (ns): 100ns;
position - offset (ns): 3ns;
traces/meter = 112 (profile 122,123 and 124) / 52 (profile 125);
Gain: 0 (Amount of gain points:2; Point 1: 0; Point 2: 0);
No background substracted;
Stacks: 256;
Filters: HP(MHz) - 250MHz / LP(MHz) - 1000MHz

I'm sending a image from Profile126.gsf, with a logarithmic gain (Point 1: 0; Point 2: 30dB), and the .gsf files without processing.

Thank you guys, so much.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 3:28 pm 

hello,Klauscb

firstly, set the stack to the minimum value like( 0 or 3 traces) before collecting the data. I think the result will be changed .
convert the profiles to dzt extension and share them to help you about the processing .

with my best wishes

PostPosted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:18 am 

hello Klauscb,
as geomouhamed suggested, you need to lower the stacking to a much lower value (3 is OK).
The next thing I would suggest is to lower the range to value around 40-50ns. If you are in an average type of a soil this would give you 2-2.5m of penetration and will not visually compress the information from the area you are interested in as much as what you have now.