gpr-forum.com

Forum dedicated to Ground Penetrating Radar technology
It is currently Sun Oct 21, 2018 8:08 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Fri May 24, 2013 4:06 pm 

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner at GPR use and I am having some problems with all the parameters that are involved in the choice of the antenna. My main problem right now is about the frequency of the antenna. My doubt is what is the difference, in terms of resolution and depth, between Center Frequency and Bandwidth.

I have an antenna with 200 Mhz to start with. Lets say hypothetically that his antenna has a 10-1400Mhz Bandwith. My question is, which of the parameters will define the depth and resolution achieved using this antenna. If I use it at 900Mhz will I have the same results as if I used a 900 Mhz center frequency antenna? If not, what is the use (or purpose) of using a 200Mhz center frequency antenna at a different frequency, 900Mhz for example?

Ty for the help.

By the way, sorry for my bad English, this is not my native language.

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2013 2:16 pm 

hi titolivioerculino,
I would suggest that you take a look at these two documents to get a better grasp on the relationship between the center frequency and the bandwidth of the GPR antenna:
http://www.geoscanners.com/pdf/gprbw.pdf
http://www.geoscanners.com/pdf/antcomp.pdf